MISA - BC Awards
Share |

BC Awards

BC Awards

Spirit of Innovation Award

Each year during the Municipal Showcase segment of the MISA BC fall conference, local government members present an information technology solution to their peers. This opportunity to share ideas allows all members to benefit from the collective experiences and innovations of each other. The Spirit of Innovation Award recognizes the local government member whose presentation provides the most beneficial, innovative, and valuable solution to any obstacle faced by local government.

How To Participate

Presentations during the Municipal Showcase are 30 minutes in length which includes time to answer questions from the audience. Content must be a new information technology solution that benefits the operation of a department, or local government as a whole. The definition of a new information technology solution is the implementation of a new leading edge product or device, or the adoption of a new idea or methodology.

To share your innovative solution with your local government peers and present in the Municipal Showcase, contact showcase@misa.bc.ca and provide your contact information, the title of your presentation, and a brief description of content. Spaces are limited and fill up fast, be sure to save your spot as soon as possible!


Delegates will determine which Municipal Showcase presentation is most deserving of The Spirit of Innovation Award via online survey provided at the end of the final presentation. Evaluation guidelines will be provided in the survey and are as follows:

  1. Innovation - The solution must introduce a new idea, a new methodology, or be an implementation of a new leading edge product or device in the municipal environment.

  2. Value - The solution must provide real benefit to the operation of a department, or to local government as a whole.

  3. Impact - The solution must be applicable to some degree to other local governments.

This year’s winner will receive a delegate pass to next year’s MISA Prairies Annual Conference!

Past Winners

  • 2016 City of Trail
  • 2015 City of Nanaimo
  • 2014 Township of Langley
  • 2013 City of Nanaimo
  • 2012 City of Langley
  • 2011 City of Victoria
  • 2010 City of Edmonton
  • 2009 City of Airdrie
  • 2008 City of Airdrie
  • 2007 City of Nanaimo
  • 2006 City of Kamloops
  • 2005 Regional District of Comox Strathcona
  • 2004 District of North Vancouver
  • 2003 City of Kelowna
  • 2002 City of Nanaimo
  • 2001 City of Kamloops
  • 2000 City of Vancouver
  • 1999 City of Kamloops
  • 1998 City of Vancouver